vancouverhasem.blogg.se

Tech tool pro 9 failed volume structures
Tech tool pro 9 failed volume structures













  1. #Tech tool pro 9 failed volume structures mac os
  2. #Tech tool pro 9 failed volume structures install
  3. #Tech tool pro 9 failed volume structures Pc

The drives are new, by the way they don't have any data/files on them. Disk Utility correctly ID's the manufacturer of the drives (Maxtor), their size (200gb each), so it's obviously seeing that the drives are there. The drives show up in Disk Utility, but I can't repair them (that option is grayed out). When I go to initialize the drives in Disk Utility, I get the following error message: "Disk Erase failed with the error: Input/output error." I have 2 hard drives in an external FW800 enclosure that I am unable to format. Shutdown the computer and remove the USB drive.Įxternal Drive Disk Erase Failed with the Error Input/Output Error The System Profiler recognises the USB stick. I have tried also with Windows, but to no avail. When I try to erase or restore with Disk Utility I get an error message 'Disk Erase failed with the error:

tech tool pro 9 failed volume structures

#Tech tool pro 9 failed volume structures Pc

I used in a PC at uni and it no longer works. I have a 1GB Kingmax USB Stick which I am trying to erase or restore.

#Tech tool pro 9 failed volume structures mac os

Steps 4-6 are optional but should be used on a drive that has never been formatted before, if the format type is not Mac OS Extended, if the partition scheme has been changed, or if a different operating system (not OS X) has been installed on the drive.ĭisk Utility _ Disk Erase failed with the error

tech tool pro 9 failed volume structures

The format process can take up to several hours depending upon the drive size. Set the format type to Mac OS Extended (Journaled.) Click on the Options button, check the button for Zero Data and click on OK to return to the Erase window.Ħ. Click on the Erase tab in the DU main window.ĥ. Select the volume you just created (this is the sub-entry under the drive entry) from the left side list. Set the number of partitions from the dropdown menu (use 1 partition unless you wish to make more.) Set the format type to Mac OS Extended (Journaled.) Click on the Partition button and wait until the volume(s) mount on the Desktop.Ĥ. Click on the Options button, set the partition scheme to GUID (only required for Intel Macs) then click on the OK button. Otherwise, click on the Partition tab in the DU main window.ģ. SMART info will not be reported on external drives. If it does not say "Verified" then the drive is failing or has failed and will need replacing. Note the SMART status of the drive in DU's status area.

tech tool pro 9 failed volume structures

After DU loads select your hard drive (this is the entry with the mfgr.'s ID and size) from the left side list. When the menu bar appears select Disk Utility from the Installer menu (Utilities menu for Tiger or Leopard.)Ģ. After the installer loads select your language and click on the Continue button. If you need to reformat your startup volume, then you must boot from your OS X Installer Disc. Open Disk Utility in your Utilities folder. If my hard drive is gone then should I consider getting an SSD drive?Īny recommendations for such a drive would be great.ġ. If anyone has any other ideas of what to try I'd really appreciate that. I'm guessing this means my hard drive is broken right? I can't even shut down the mac as everything under the apple tab is greyed out!

#Tech tool pro 9 failed volume structures install

The only thing that appears in disk utility is the OSX install DVD. The internal hard drive no longer exists in the disk utility so I cant retry erasing it. I checked the process an hour in and message on screen read:

tech tool pro 9 failed volume structures

I chose 7-Pass to erase the Macintosh HD and set it off erasing. I then went into Utilities > Disk Utility. I followed the install prcedure, clicking next a few times etc. Is my HD Dead? Reformat Disk Utility Error: secure disk erase failed with the error could not open disk.įed up with seeing the spinning beach ball I decided to reformat my MacBook Pro.Īfter backing up everything on an external hard drive I put in the OSX install DVD, restarted the machine and held down 'C'.















Tech tool pro 9 failed volume structures